Oiseau de Feu scarf completed

Posted: June 13, 2012 in Crafts
Tags: , , , , , ,

I finished the blue lace scarf with the pattern entitled ‘Oiseau de Feu.’  It turned out better than expected, considering it was my first real attempt at knitting a lace pattern.  I gave up on trying to use the charted pattern and wrote it out.  I was spending too much time counting little squares on the chart and not knitting.  The pattern was only a page long with the chart, but about two pages written out.   I don’t see any advantage to using charts for knitting patterns, unless there is some color changes involved.  It seems like an especially bad idea for lace.

Having successfully completed this scarf I decided to pick up where I left off on the Orange Scarf of Eternal Consternation.  I found I’d left myself a mess, and I had to rip out 9 or 10 rows and start them over.  This scarf was started back in 2000 when orange was just starting to become a popular color.  It is a simple knit ripple pattern, but it is just slow going.  I’m probably 60% done with it after 12 years.  Maybe I’ll finish it this year.  

Leave a comment